The Singin' Lass

Selected Works of Marion Angus

Marion Angus

Celebrates the legacy of Marion Angus, (1865-1946) one of Scotland's finest lyric poets. This collection of her work for more than fifty years, includes poetry, extracts from her early prose and an introductory essay about her life and work.
Date Published :
July 2006
Publisher :
Editor :
Aimee Chalmers
Illustration :
1 port.
Format Available    QuantityPrice
Binding : Paperback
ISBN : 9781904598640
Pages : 228
Stock Status : In stock


As a young, strong-willed Victorian "new woman" in Arbroath, Marion wrote colorful, witty and perceptive diaries and articles which revealed her to be knowledgeable, well-traveled, cultured and opinionated. After the death of her father in 1902, however, she assumed a traditional female role, caring for her mother and younger sister. It was not until freed of family responsibilities during the First World War that she started to write poetry.

In 1931, at the age of 66, Marion became effectively homeless after serious family problems. She began to live a peripatetic existence, staying with family and friends and in a series of lodgings for thirteen years until taken to Arbroath to be looked after by Miss Williamina Matthew, an "intimate friend," for the last two years of her life. Marion's work is modern and imaginative in its approach. The apparent simplicity of her strong and hauntingly sympathetic lyrical poetry is deceptive. This publication is supported by Angus Council's Cultural Services.

About The Author

Aimee Chalmers was raised in Montrose and spent her early career helping disadvantaged youngsters find their identity through creativity. She has been concentrating on her own creative writing since 2002, and has an MPhil from Glasgow University. She is now completing a PhD at St Andrew's University. She is the current of the Scots Language Society's Robert McLennan Tassie, for the best short story in Scots.

More from this publisher