The Second World War and its Aftermath 1939 - 1951

E.H. Carter, R.A.F Mears

Date Published :
December 2011
Publisher :
Stacey International
Editor :
David Evans
Series :
Classic British History
Format Available    QuantityPrice
ISBN : 9781906768492
Pages : 190
In stock


This massively popular series, first released in 1937, tells the story of our islands in a straightforward, chronological narrative. Carter and Mears' writing is fast-paced, muscular and direct, and covers the matrix of British history including overseas events, the arts, religion and major social changes. Updated and revised by an expert hand, this series is being revived at a time when the failure of our schools to provide a connected,fact-based sense of the events that defined our nation, is being rightly and increasingly lamented by politicians, parents and the media. Volume VIII, covers the Second World War and its aftermath, the foundation of the modern welfare state and great technological leaps forward

About The Author

David Evans is Senior Lecturer in French at the University of St Andrews, UK.

More from this publisher