The Life and Reign of Edward the Fourth, King of England and of France and Lord of Ireland. Volume 2

Cora L. Scofield

Edward IV, (1442-1483) was King of England from March 1461 until October 1470, and again from April 1471 until his death in April 1483.
Date Published :
June 2016
Publisher :
Fonthill Media
Format Available    QuantityPrice
Binding : Paperback
ISBN : 9781781554760
Pages : 544
Dimensions : 9 X 6 inches
Stock Status : In stock


Edward IV, (1442-1483) was King of England from 4 March 1461 until 3 October 1470, and again from 11 April 1471 until his death on 9 April 1483. In a turbulent world marred by civil war, Edward, 4th Duke of York—with good title to the throne—overthrew the corrupt government of the weak and feeble-minded Henry VI, setting the foundation stones for a strong and prosperous England. He was an able and successful king who rescued England from the misery of war and created her with a firm, judicious and popular government. Like his grandson, Henry VIII, he was tall and handsome as a young man. Also like his grandson he was pleasure-loving, and in his later years he was increasingly arbitrary and avaricious. Notwithstanding this, he proved capable of creating a successful and highly personal monarchy which in many ways set the scene for the Tudor monarchs who ruled throughout the sixteenth century through the bloodline of his eldest daughter, Elizabeth. Cora L. Scofield's two volumes are a magisterial record of this reign. Although other biographies have appeared, none have replaced this solid work of scholarship. In his authoritative and best-selling biography of Edward IV in 1975, Professor Charles Ross said '. . . my attempt . . . has necessarily involved some foreshortening, and for details one must still refer to Miss C. L. Scofield's elaborate . . . account of Yorkist foreign policy.'

About The Author

Cora L. Schofield was an American scholar of great distinction. Her speciality was fifteenth-century English history and her thoroughness and completeness in her work still stands to this day.

More from this publisher