Sister Caravaggio

Maeve Binchy, Neil Donnelly, Cormac Millar, Éilis Ni Duibhne, Mary O'Donnell, Peter Sheridan, Peter Cunningham

A highly unusual book, in that the seven parts were written by seven different authors, with the reader left guessing which author may have written which section.
Date Published :
July 2015
Publisher :
Liberties Press
Format Available    QuantityPrice
Binding : Paperback
ISBN : 9781909718418
Pages : 256
Dimensions : 8.5 X 5.25 inches
Stock Status : Out of stock. Available in 6-8 weeks


The small Caravaggio which hangs in the chapel of Doon Abbey in Kildare attracts visitors to the abbey from far and wide. One night, however, the painting disappears. The Sister Superior is unwilling to cooperate with the police, as this would compromise the abbey’s silent-order ethos. Alice Dunwoody, a novitiate at the abbey who heard strange sounds on the night of the theft, persuades Sister Mercy Superior to allow her to investigate, with the help of the abbey’s computer-savvy librarian, Sister Mary Magdalene. As the nuns try to track down the painting, the list of possible suspects – and the body count – multiplies.

About The Author

NEIL DONNELLY is an award-winning playwright. He has written plays for the theatre, including the Abbey Theatre and the Gaiety Theatre, for radio, including for RTÉ and the BBC, and for the screen.

CORMAC MILLAR is a crime writer, literary translator and academic writer. His novels are An Irish Solution (2004) and The Grounds (2006).

ÉILIS NI DUIBHNE is an award-winning novelist, short-story writer and playwright in both English and Irish. Her novel The Dancers Dancing was shortlisted for the Orange Prize for fiction.

MARY O'DONNELL is the author of 11 books, both poetry and fiction, including The Light-Makers, Virgin and the Boy and The Elysium Treatment.

PETER SHERIDAN is an acclaimed novelist, playwright, screenwriter and director. His memoir 44: A Dublin Memoir was nominated for an Irish Times Literature Prize.

PETER CUNNINGHAM is an award-winning novelist and columnist. He is best known for his historical novels, including The Sea and the Silence (2010), and The Taoiseach (2003).

More from this publisher