Liberal England, World War and Slump 1901-1939

E.H. Carter, R.A.F Mears

Date Published :
December 2011
Publisher :
Stacey International
Editor :
David Evans
Series :
Classic British History
Format Available    QuantityPrice
ISBN : 9781906768485
Pages : 200
In stock


This massively popular series, first released in 1937, tells the story of our islands in a straightforward, chronological narrative. Carter and Mears' writing is fast-paced, muscular and direct, and covers the matrix of British history including overseas events, the arts, religion and major social changes. Updated and revised by an expert hand, this series is being revived at a time when the failure of our schools to provide a connected,fact-based sense of the events that defined our nation, is being rightly and increasingly lamented by politicians, parents and the media. Volume VII opens at the turn of the 20th century and covers the Liberal Reformers, the Fist World War, the roaring '20s and the Great Depression.

About The Author

David Evans is Senior Lecturer in French at the University of St Andrews, UK.

More from this publisher