The Light of What Comes After

Jen Town

Winner of the 2017 May Sarton New Hampshire Poetry Prize
Date Published :
April 2018
Publisher :
Bauhan Publishing
Format Available    QuantityPrice
ISBN : 9780872332560
Pages : 96
Dimensions : 8.5 X 6.5 inches
In stock


This collection, The Light of What Comes After, was selected by judge Jennifer Militello as the winner of the 2017 May Sarton New Hampshire Poetry Prize.

Judge Militello writes, Jen Town's The Light of What Comes After offers a sure manifesto against the domestic and cosmetic. Town's poems are wry and aware. Town's rich linguistic moments and surprising imagery lend her voice a slant which can seem playful and unafraid, but warning is always stitched just below the surface. This is a writer who knows Your debts / are more than you'll ever pay back.'

About The Author

Jen Town was born in Dunkirk, New York, and grew up in Erie, Pennsylvania. Her poetry has appeared in Mid-American Review, Cimarron Review, Epoch, Third Coast, Lake Effect, Crab Orchard Review, Unsplendid, Bellingham Review, and others. She earned her MFA in Creative Writing from The Ohio State University in 2008 and lives in Columbus, Ohio, with her wife, Carrie.

More from this publisher